Club Notes: 2nd September 2019

Shamrocks GAA Club Notes (kindly sponsored by Allen Engineering & Agri Sales Ltd.)

Club Lotto.
The numbers drawn in last Monday’s Lotto draw were 3-5-9-23, and there was one winner of the €2,850 jackpot, which was won by the Crawford family of Coolbeggan, so our congratulations to them, and well deserved. €20 winners were Catherine Baldwin, the Imperial Hotel, John Lyons, Flor Harnedy, and Liam Casey. Next week’s jackpot restarts at €1,500.
IHC Shamrocks 1-13, Ballysaggart 0-21.
Shamrocks Intermediate hurlers made their exit from this year’s hurling championship when they were beaten by 5 points by Ballysaggart in Lismore last Sunday. We got off to a good start with two points each from Edward Lonergan and Shane Roche, and another from Stevie Lucey who was having a big influence in the game to give us a 5 points to 2 lead early on. Ballysaggart came back into the game, but further scores from Ed, Stevie and Chris Murphy extended our lead to four points. We then lost Joe Leahy to injury with ten minutes left in the half, which was a big blow as he had been playing very well up to then. Ballysaggart finished the half with 3 unanswered points however to leave just a point between the teams, 0-9 to 0-8 in our favour. The second half began with the sides trading scores, but gradually Ballysaggart took control and five unanswered points left them four ahead with time running out. Then we were given a lifeline with a penalty which was expertly converted by Shane to leave just a point between the teams. It was then though that the three Bennett brothers showed their class with four unanswered points to send them into the semi final, and us out at the quarter final stage once again. With Colm Roche, Cathal Herlihy, and Padraig Roche all unavailable because of injury, this was a game that we were not expected to win, but for three quarters of the game the lads gave everything and were very competitive up until the last five minutes or so, and really took the game to Ballysaggart, and we commend them for a great effort. That finishes the hurling for this year. Panel;  Liam Murphy, Padraig Ahearne, Tommy O’ Donovan, Michael Lucey, Adam Crawford, Shane Roche (1-3), Ivan O’ Neill, Billy Hynes, John Paul Lucey, Chris Murphy (0-1),Edward Lonergan (0-6), Stevie Lucey (0-3), Edward Hynes, Joe Leahy, Kieran Crawford, Liam Motherway, Jason Ahearne, Tom Goulding, Brian Harnedy, Tom Roche, John O’ Donovan, Shane Harnedy, Ciaran O’ Keeffe, Martin Delaney.

No Replies to "Club Notes: 2nd September 2019"