Club Notes: 7th January 2018

Club Lotto.
Last week’s winning numbers were 5-10-12 and 27, and there was no winner. €20 winners were Jim Barry,Liam Power, Margaret Nugent, Nancy Hogan, and Oliver Flanagan. Next week’s jackpot will be €2,250.

The A.G.M. of na Seamroga CLG took place in the Shamrock Inn last Friday 5th January in the Shamrock Inn with a pleasantly large attendance. Eamonn Lonergan, giving his first Treasurers report,gave a very detailed account of the finances of the club for the year. A total of just under €100,000 passed through the books which gives some indication of the responsibility of not just the treasurer of a GAA club, but also the secretary. Eamonn was rightly complimented on an excellent report. Next came the report of Ann O’ Keeffe, Secretary, where she dealt with all activities of the club during the year. Ann, who has been Secretary of the club for 30 years gave a comprehensive rundown of all the events of the year in the club. Chairman Liam Ahearne addressed the meeting before moving on to the election of officers. Before the election of officers took place, outgoing Vice Chairman James Tobin informed the meeting he was stepping down as an officer of the club. He will continue to serve as a member of the committee, and he was elected as a Vice President of the club. James has been an officer of the club for more than 50 years, serving as Treasurer, Secretary, Chairman, and various other roles in the club including multiple terms as selector. He also served as County Chairman as well as an officer in the Western Board. Tributes were paid to James from the meeting, but James was quick to point out he would still serve the club in the committee. The club owes James a debt of gratitude for all his years of service. The officers for the coming year are; Chairman, Liam Ahearne; Vice Chairman, Frank Roche; Joint Hon Secretaries Ann O’ Keeffe and Padraig Tobin; Treasurer Eamonn Lonergan; assistant Treasurer Thomas Baldwin; PRO and Children’s Officer, Frank Roche; Registrar, Mark Baldwin; Membership Officer Thomas Baldwin, Insurance Officer Padraig Tobin; Health & Wellbeing Officer Frank Roche; First Aid Tim Lenehan. Tributes were also paid to long time First Aid Officer Liam Casey who has also stepped down. Thanks for all your service Liam. The committee was elected as they were with the inclusion of Peter Morrisson. A special committee which was formed to find a coach and trainer for the coming year have got a man to take on the job, but he has a few loose ends to tidy up before we can name him formally. Selectors for the Intermediate hurlers, Mike Leahy, Padraig Tobin,and Sean Murphy. The Junior Football team will be managed by Dan Casey with selectors Declan Butler, Padraig Tobin and Tim Lenehan. Joe Ahearne, Martin O’ Keeffe, and Peter Morrisson will take charge of the Junior Hurling team. There was some lively discussion with several issues debated before the meeting was adjourned. We wish all the officers and committee the best of luck for the coming year.

Emily Byrne Sponsored Walk.
Congratulations to the organisers of the sponsored walk for Emily Byrne which took place in Knockanore last Saturday. A huge crowd turned up on the day to lend their support for this worthy cause. Emily has a long and difficult journey ahead of her, but I’m sure with the support of both Melleray and Knockanore parishes behind herself, Ann Marie and Sean, she will get through it. Le cúnamh Dé.

No Replies to "Club Notes: 7th January 2018"